Escondido Public Library

 

Posts in Category: terminal illness

Categories

Feed 

by M.T. Anderson
03/04/2017 Categories: sci fi technology terminal illness

This book is about a futurist society where everyone has the internet implanted in their brains, even from a young age. This book follows a boy who has never had to think for himself and now has to learn there is more to this world then he had previously thought.

This book had a very good plot line, how a boy had to learn to think for himself. The writing however left a lot to be desired. The author, seemingly on purpose, uses very low level language, quite a bit of cussing, and slightly improper grammar. She does this because the main character is uneducated, which is very clever, but can be a little bit annoying.

I would not recommend this to someone who does not enjoy cussing or who gets annoyed by little grammar errors. The story line is very interesting though and I would recommend you reading it if you can ignore those other factors.

Mackenzie, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Lirbrary

The Probability of Miracles 

by Wendy Wunder

The Probability of Miracles is about Campbell, a girl who's days are numbered. Her mom, refusing to accept this inevitability, moves Campbell and her sister to a town in Maine where miracles have been known to happen. As Campell resigns herself to a quiet life and quieter death, her sister and mom encourage her to live her life to the fullest.

I loved The Probability of Miracles. It was hilarious and devastating at the same time. Probably one of the most honest portrayals of the human experience I've read.

I would recommend this book to older teens who love film references and sarcastic characters who are brutally honest. Fans of John Green's The Fault In Our Stars and Looking for Alaska would enjoy this book.

Amanda, 16

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this Book

The Fault in Our Stars 

by John Green

The Fault in Our StarsThe Fault in Our Stars followed two teenage cancer victims. Both of them had a serious form of cancer and they knew that eventually it would win, but they still managed to make a little infinity together.

The book was amazing. It would take you from tears to pure joy and then back to tears again. The moral of the story was just heart-warming: No matter how much time you have left, you can always find happiness and love. It was just a beautiful story.

I would recommend this book to everyone who loves to read a sweet love story with heart-ache and heart-warming scenes. It was just amazing how realistic the characters seemed, which forced you to feel many emotions, ranging from sadness to pure joy. I would definitely recommend this to everyone, it is a must-read.

Chanel, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the library

The Fault in Our Stars 

by John Green
12/07/2013 Categories: movie romance terminal illness

The Fault in Our Stars

Hazel Grace is a girl who has stage four thyroid cancer. Hazel finds that she is battling herself and has a hard time living. Once Hazel meets Augustus Waters, everything changes for her.

I really liked it because once you get to know Hazel and Augustus, you begin to love these characters. Right from the beginning, you can tell they are made for each other.

I would recommend this book to anyone who feels like reading about a little romance and a bit of a tragedy. The Fault In Our Stars is life changing and will change the way about how you see the world.

Jacki, 17

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

The Fault in Our Stars 

by John Green
09/28/2013 Categories: realistic fiction terminal illness

The Fault in Our StarsThe Fault in Our Stars, tells the story of Hazel Grace a sixteen-year old who is fighting against terminal thyroid cancer. When joining a support group for cancer teens, she meats, the charismatic and charming Augustus Waters, a cancer survivor and amputee. The novel follows their beautiful yet tragic relationship.

I really enjoyed this book, it was beautifully written, and the plot was very captivating. Another thing that I loved about this book were the characters - they were all very complex and "real". Augustus was one of my favorites, because even though he went through so much, he was still willing to love, and try his chance at love again. Hazel was a really strong female character who was able to come to terms with the tragedies of her life.

I would recommend this book to everyone - it is not strictly a girl novel. Since the author is male, I believe that guys would also find this book interesting. Even though it is sad and you will find yourself crying at certain parts, people will like The Fault in Our Stars. Overall it's a lovely story that teaches you to appreciate what you have and make the most of it.

Daisy, 17

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

The Fault in Our Stars 

by John Greene

Fault in our StarsThe Fault in Our Stars tells the story of Hazel, a teenager living with Thyroid cancer. She has accepted her illness and is content with everything. However, her life is given a spark when she meets Augustus, a teenager who beat cancer. John Green's novel is a romantic and humorous story that leaves readers laughing and crying.

The book is absolutely amazing. It is funny, romantic, and realistic. It doesn't fall into the Manic Pixie Dream Trope that is unfortunately in a lot of young adult novels. The story isn't a cliche story of someone with an illness and it's also not a cliche romantic story. It's very unique. I would definitely recommend this novel to everyone who's interested. It's a very pleasurable book that you can read in a couple hours. The characters, the story, and the message make it a page turner.

CJ, 17

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

The Fault in Our Stars 

by John Greene

The Fault in Our StarsIn the book, a girl named Hazel Grace has cancer. She starts going to teen groups with other cancer teens. Hazel loves reading poetry.  She meets a boy named Augustus Waters. Ausgustus Waters is a handsome 16 year old. They eventually fall in love, but something tragic happens.

I loved this book. I consider this book one of the best books I've ever read. It had me hooked from the beginning to the end. I could not put this book down. The Fault in Our Stars is a definite page turner! This book is also one of the saddest books I've ever read. John Green knows how to make readers cry oceans. 

I would recommend this book to all teens, both boys and girls. It is a good read. Be prepared to cry your eyes out in this one!

Alissa, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

My Sister's Keeper 

by Jodi Picoult

My Sister's Keeper coverThis book is about a thirteen year old girl, Anna who likes independence. She doesn't want to be only known because of her sick sister. She doesn't have a normal teenage life because her sister has cancer. Anna's entire family depends on her to keep her sister alive. Anna has a very close relationship with her sister.

This book became boring in the middle. I was surprised by the tragic ending which I strongly disliked. I kept thinking to myself that this cannot happen. But what I liked about this book is that it shows many things that are actually happening in people's lives right now. For example, this book shows how a family faces many troubles going through living with their sick daughter with cancer.

I would recommend this book to others because it shows you how it feels like to be part of a family with someone going through cancer. If you are someone who knows a person going through cancer, you might enjoy this book.

Alissa, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

Second Chance Summer 

by Morgan Matson

Second Chance coverThis book is about a 17 year old girl named Taylor. Taylor has the tendency for running away from her problems. When things got hard, she would just run away. Due to her father's cancer, her family must go to their lake house during the summer to spend time with each other. Taylor has been trying so hard to avoid going there since running away from the problems she had caused 5 years ago. She finally learns to accept the fact that she has to face her problems.

This book is one of my favorites. It was amazing! I was so surprised by how much I loved it and could not stop reading it. I could not put this book down. I was so into it, that I read 450 out of the 468 pages in one day. I decided to read this book when I saw how pretty the cover was.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone! Typically in the ages of 13-17. If you like stories of friendship and stories that teaches a good lesson, you would enjoy Second Chance Summer.

Alissa, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

https://library.escondido.org/Blog/ViewCategory.aspx?cat=291&pageid=1256&mid=1674