Escondido Public Library

 

Posts in Category: detective stories

Categories

Journey to Munich 

by Jacqeline Winspear
06/29/2017 Categories: detective stories mystery spies

This novel is about the mission of Maisie Dobbs, a British spy, to Munich on the eve of World War II. Maisie is assigned by the British Secret Service to travel to Munich in order to retrieve Leon Donat, a man crucial to the British war plans. Throughout the mission, Maisie must play the role of Donat's daughter, Edwina, as she was too sick to go herself. While in Munich, Maisie finds herself in more trouble than anticipated.

I really like this book because it kept me on the edge of my seat. I also enjoy historic books, especially the World War II genre. This book was extremely well-written. It was action-packed and mysterious.

I definitely recommend this book to others because it is so exciting. This story is ideal for those that enjoy action, adventure and history.

Bethany, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

All In 

by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
07/26/2016 Categories: action detective stories murder mystery

All In is a continuation of the Naturals series, where five teenagers with exceptional abilities work together to solve FBI cases. In this book, Cassie and the Naturals are working a serial murder case, and stumble upon a cult that may hold the answers to Cassie's mother's disappearance.

I like All In because the mystery was exciting and had several unexpected plot twists. All In's mystery is believable and an awesome addition to the YA mystery collection.

I would recommend All In to fans of CSI type movies, books, etc. And since there is an element of a love triangle in the Naturals series, fans of the Hunger Games might enjoy this book as well.

Amanda, 16

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

Silenced 

by Dani Pettrey

Silenced is a book about a girl named Kayden who finds a murder victim while rock climbing. As she works on the case with Jake, a former detective, they find that the present seems to be repeating Jake's past.

Silenced was a definite page-turner due to the mystery and suspense of the novel. I, however, found that this suspense seems to hide the fact that the first mystery did not feel resolved before you are caught up in this next one. I am generally impressed by the novel, but I wish there had been more resolution.

I would recommend this book to fans of romance and mystery books. Since this book is similar to some of Irene Hannon and Dee Henderson's works, fans of those authors would really enjoy this book.

Amanda, 16

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this book

Shattered 

by Dani Pettrey

Shattered is a story about Piper and Landon, two friends that have known each other since childhood. When Piper's brother is arrested for murder, Piper is determined to prove his innocence, and with Landon's help, they just might be able to do it.

I really enjoyed reading Shattered because the mystery was constantly moving forward, giving the book an overall momentum. The mystery leaves you guessing, and keeps you excited in general.

I would recommend Shattered to fans of romance and mysteries. Fans of Dee Henderson and Irene Hannon would also enjoy this novel.

Amanda, 16

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

Cross My Heart, Hope to Die 

by Sara Shepard
06/05/2013 Categories: detective stories murder mystery siblings

Cross my heartThe book continues to follow Emma Paxton as she tries to find her twin's murderer. But things seem to become more complicated as the twin's birth mother shows up in Tucson, and  recognizes Emma as her self, and not Sutton who she is still pretending to be. Throughout the book Emma tries to clear her mother's name because she appears to be a top suspect of Sutton's murder.

Yes, I really enjoyed reading this book, it was full of mystery and dangerous situations. The same old lovable characters continue to appear, and they are faced with even more dangerous situations than in the previous books. Overall the mysterious element of the book continues and you are always kept at the edge of your seat.

Yes, I would very much recommend this book to others, because it is a thrilling mystery novel that keeps the reader thinking. I would especially recommend it to those who are fans of Sara Shepard's previous novels, and to those who enjoy reading mystery novels. 

Daisy, 17

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this book

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo 

by Stieg Larsson

Girl with the Dragon TattooJournalist Mikhail Blomkvist is asked by a millionaire to investigate the 40 year old murder of his beloved niece. He gets help from the peculiar and frightening expert hacker Lisbeth Salander in solving the case. Set in snowy Sweden, they go off on a journey full of terror and surprises.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is an excellent novel. It is a very enticing story and one of the best murder mystery stories. The book definitely keeps the readers on their toes and guessing.

This book would be recommended for older teens who can handle violence and nudity. The characters and the story are very interesting and will be enjoyed by many who love a good murder mystery.

CJ, 17

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

The Secret Prophecy 

by Herbie Brennan
04/01/2013 Categories: action detective stories murder spies

Secret ProphecyImagine if your dad died and some really strange people showed up at his funeral with guns hidden in their jackets. That's what happened to Edward Michael Goverton. Call him Em. When Em stumbles on a Nostradamus "secret prophecy" he is in for the adventure of a lifetime. Aided by a Secret Service (Section 7) agent named Victor and a good friend, Em discovers what kind of mess he is really in and along the way, finds out the truth about his dad.

 I loved this book because of all the action. I couldn't put it down. I would recommend this to anyone who likes action and spy stuff.

Hieu, 13

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this book

The Chamber 

by John Grisham

ChamberThis book takes place back in 1967 when the KKK was bombing the houses and offices of black and Jewish people. The book is about a grandson named Adam Hall who tries to save his grandfather that he barely knew and is going to be gassed for bombing an office and killing two little boys. Adam tries everything he can to save his grandfather, but he fails and his grandfather gets gassed.

This book was very good because it talks about history. It is interesting to read and learn about what happened to murderers during 1967.

I would recommend this book to people who are interested in history and want to know more about what happened in the 1900's

Josh, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories 

by Agatha Christie

Image result for miss marple short storiesIn Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories, the scatter-brained Miss Marple has yet again solved 13 mysteries that prove her uncanny ability of seeing through lies and seeking the truth!  From a serial wife killer to a fortune teller predicting someone's death, this elderly detective is the only one who can clearly see the person at fault, the motive, and the means of committing the crime.

I find mysteries thrilling, so 13 of these treats in one book was like paradise! I really enjoy Christie's portrayal of Miss Marple as a dear old lady who actually has an acute sense of evil.

For those who like flipping to the end of a mystery book to find the solution, this book is perfect since it only takes 15 pages to find out who the criminal is!  If you enjoy reading mysteries as much as I do, I'm sure these short stories will entertain you for a couple of days!

Julie, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy 

by Ally Carter
04/26/2012 Categories: detective stories mystery spies

Cross my heart coverThe Gallagher Girls are back--and Cameron "Chameleon" Morgan has been tangled up in her newest web of troubles: this time involving a mysterious spy school just like the Gallagher Academy for Girls, but for boys! What's even worse, one of the boys has his eyes on Cammie...the battle between the Gallagher Girls and Blackthorne Boys has begun.

I loved this book! The Gallagher Girls series is always spunky and exciting, and there was not one moment where I got bored. Any 7th grade and up girl would enjoy this book! If you like spy genres or books with strong female protagonists, this series is definitely for you.

Erica, 16

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

The Case of the Left-Handed Lady 

by Nancy Springer

Left-Handed Lady coverIn this sequel to the young adult spinoff of the classic Sherlock Holmes (the first book was The Case of the Missing Marquess), Enola Holmes, the unconventional and resourceful little sister of the greatest detective in London, discovers yet another strange case while on her escape from her older brothers. As she solves the mystery, she must also dodge her brother's observant eye as their paths cross in London.

This book's language had a really "classic" taste to it, but it was easy to read! It wasn't too long and was the perfect book for light perusal. The plot had me hooked, although I did get a little scared at some points.

Anyone who likes mysteries and/or classics will enjoy this. The series is geared more towards girls, with Enola as the heroine of the story.

Erica, 16

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this book

https://library.escondido.org/Blog/ViewCategory.aspx?cat=40&pageid=1256&mid=1674