Escondido Public Library

 

Escondido Public Library’s Middle Grade Book Club Hosts Author Erin Fry

10/08/2014 Categories: Book Club Children

Escondido, CA – Escondido Public Library’s Read, Eat, and Discuss (R.E.A.D.) Middle Grade Book Club for children, ages 9-12, will meet on Friday, November 7, 2014, in the Turrentine Room from 3:30 – 4:30 p.m. Participants will discuss Secrets of the Book. The novel’s author, Erin Fry, will be present at the event to answer questions about her book and writing process. A limited number of copies of Secrets of the Book will be available for checkout at the Children’s Desk beginning on Monday, October 13, 2014.

Spencer’s mother forces him to visit a nursing home each week, where he befriends Ed, an elderly resident. Soon after entrusting Spencer with Pandora’s Book, Ed mysteriously disappears. In this vivid fantasy novel, sixth-grader Spencer Lemon, a young boy with rapidly failing eyesight, finds himself the unwitting guardian of Pandora’s Book, a magical tome that brings famous historical figures back to life. It’s up to the tween and his friends to figure out how to properly use the book and keep it out of the hands of evil doers. Fans of The 39 Clues series and Dan Gutman’s Genius Files will eagerly swoop up Fry’s fast-paced tale.Youth Services Librarian Lalitha Nataraj said, “The Youth Services’ Department is thrilled to have Ms. Fry come to the Library and directly engage children on the topics of books and reading—this is a wonderful opportunity that underscores the uniqueness and fun of the R.E.A.D Book Club program.”

The next R.E.A.D. Middle Grade Book Club meeting will be on Friday, February 6, 2015, from 3:30-4:30 p.m. in the Turrentine Room. Readers will discuss Zita the Space Girl by Ben Hatke.

Library programs, events, and services are free and open to the public. Programs are sponsored by Friends of the Escondido Public Library. Escondido Public Library is located at 239 South Kalmia Street in Escondido. For information about the R.E.A.D. Middle Grade Book Club, contact Youth Services Librarian Lalitha Nataraj at 760-839-5458 or at lnataraj@escondido.org. Additional information about the Library’s programs for children of all ages can be found at library.escondido.org.

https://library.escondido.org/escondido-public-library’s-middle-grade-book-club-hosts-author-erin-fry.aspx