Check out these book reviews by local teens. 

Want to submit your own? Fill out this FORM.

Categories

The Great Gatsby 

by F. Scott Fitzgerald
12/07/2017 Categories: classic romance

Image result for the great gatsby bookThis book takes place during the 1920's in New York. Where there's two sides, the East Egg and West Egg, the rich neighborhood. Wealthy people in 1920's use their money to get out of problems. They didn't take responsibilities over their accidents.

I like this book because it shows how in the 1920's wealthy people believe they could buy off anything because of money. At the end they learn that no matter how much money they have, they can't be happy.

If you are in eleventh grade, then you are going to read this book. I recommend this book to everyone. This book has so many lessons to learn from.

Yessica, 16

Rating: 

smileyFind the at the Library

The Weight of Water 

by Anita Shreve
12/07/2017 Categories: death horror murder older teens

This book took place during the year 1873. Two women lived on the Isles of Shoals, a group of islands off the coast of New Hampshire. One of the women was brutally murdered. The other, survive.

It’s a good book because it took place during the 1873 so it’s a different type of book from ones that i would normally pick up. It’s like a journey that takes you to the farthest extremes of emotion.

I would recommend this book to people that like to read action books with horrific consequences.

Yessica, 16

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

This Star Won't Go Out 

by Esther Earl, Lori Earl, Wayne Earl, and John Green
11/15/2017 Categories: cancer non-fiction

This book is Esther Earl's life. Journal entries, notes, everything. Esther Star Earl was diagnosed with cancer at age 12. In 2010 at the sweet age of 16, Esther passed away. Even though it may seem like a sad tale, Esther is a very interesting girl. You get to understand her, and laugh at her journal entries, and you get to know her. How many of you people have read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green? Yeah, well John dedicated that book to Esther. God bless you, Esther Earl;) 

I have to be honest(on a public site, seriously?) with you guys, I cried in the ending because Esther died. I mean, I knew it would happen, but you get so attached. Don't get discouraged, you should still read it. Honor those who have passed. It was a great, touching book. 

Anyone could read this, but those who want to connect with someone you never expected to, should read this book. Esther also has her own YouTube page:cookie4monster4/user/youtube.com(just google it. 'Tis easier) Hope you love it as much as I do!

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Taking Flight 

by Michaela DePrince
11/15/2017 Categories: inspirational non-fiction war

Everyone has heard of Misty Copeland, the black ballerina, but have they heard of another one? Well, her name is Michaela DePrince, and she has a story to tell. Despite the horror's of her past, Michaela has really taken flight and proven to people that someone who was judged as the lowest of low, can really rise to the top.

This book is yet another war memoir(I know, what is up with all these war books?), and as unique as How Dare The Sun Rise. Michaela DePrince takes you through the journey from becoming the grand ballerina she is seen as today. Fun fact: This book took place at the same destination as A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah(or, 'The Review My Sister Wrote')

I hope everyone reads inspirational bookS like these, because they will see the world at a different angle than when they first begun the book. Even though war memoirs are hard to read, it really explains the hardship that people might not even heard of. This is what people are doing today: helping kids in Africa who has gone through the same things as Michaela. Horrifying scenes from war. It also has it's fun parts!(young black kids have the weirdest images of white people, "Their hair are different colors like Teacher Sarah's crayons. I heard that you could see the sky in their eyes.")

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this Book

 

How Dare The Sun Rise 

by Sandra Uwiringiyimana
11/15/2017 Categories: inspirational non-fiction older teens war

This book is a war memoir of Sandra Uwiringiyimana. It describes the vivid memories that Sandra endured in Africa. War was raging, and people died along with it. Sandra's story is sure to horrify. Horrify you in the means of presenting to you a different point of view as the victim of war, and to explain what it is like not having the rights we have in the U.S.

It was really good. Some parts were very hard to read through(well, it is a war memoir) because I am reading about someone's real life. It was definitely interesting because I learn what it is like outside of the United States. I think everyone has the potential to learn a different point of view, but only a few try.

Like I said in the earlier paragraph, I think everyone should read this book, and I hope many do. This is a story of people who are not really known, who rise up to become a national beacon of hope.

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

The Romantics 

by Leah Konen
11/06/2017 Categories: family drama romance

Gael Brennan's girlfriend just broke up with him in the most cruel way possible and now, a few days later, he's about to fall for the totally wrong girl. This is a story of love, in the point of view of Love itself. 

When I first heard about the concept of this book I thought it was genius and I knew I had to get my hands on it. I loved this book. I loved the totally new way to tell a story from third-person, by telling it by an emotion. The main character, Gael, was so lovable.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves love or is looking for a quick, fun read. You see him falling for the wrong girl and roll your eyes, but later see him falling for the right one and you'll have hearts in your eyes. There are a lot of family moments and some flashbacks that will have you awing. You will not regret picking up this book!

Katelyn, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda 

by Becky Albertalli
11/06/2017 Categories: friendship high school drama lgbtq romance

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is the story about a homosexual sixteen year old boy. Simon Spier, has been emailing with a mysterious boy from school who is the only person that knows of his sexuality. But when he forgets to log out of his email on the school computer, his secret spirals out of hand. 

I absolutely loved this book. I was laughing out loud continuously and taking pictures of lines from the book and sending them to friends. The only thing I didn't like about this book was how annoying some of Simon's friends got at times. 

I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a laugh or anyone who wants an insider look on the struggles of coming out. I would like to state a trigger-warning for swearing, sexually explicit content, and alcohol. If you liked this book, I suggest that you read The Upside of Unrequited where the main character, Simon Spier, even makes a cameo. 

Katelyn, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

A Long Way Gone 

by Ishmael Beah
10/25/2017 Categories: non-fiction older teens true stories war

A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier is a very stirring autobiography about Ishmael Beah and his journey to becoming a boy soldier and how he recovers from it. Beah takes the reader through his painful journey of loss and pain, but also a journey of discovery and growing up. Beah takes the reader deep into his thoughts and heart, describing the devastating disappointment and pain of his family's death, the hatred that fueled his drive in being a boy soldier in the Sierra Leone civil war, and finally how he reconciles with his past and how he finally regains his childhood and humanity. 

This novel was very good because Beah is very honest about his experiences and pain. It's interesting to read about how he learned to cope with the memories of his painful past and losses. But it's also interesting to see him grow and recover from his past.

I would recommend this book to all people. It's a good book about culture, war around the world, recovery from grief, and the loss of childhood. It also questions the role of the idea of 'Humanity' and what happens to people who have lost it.

Keila, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Flint 

by Louis L'Amour
10/11/2017 Categories: action historical wild west

Image result for Louis L'Amour FlintJim Flint is a man known by many names: James T. Kettleman, Jim Flint, and the legendary kid at The Crossings, known for being so fast with his gun he killed five men in as many seconds. But now it seems his life has come to a tragic end--he has cancer. Flint is a powerful, cunning, and cold man, a man who has never known a family and has never needed one. But his life has seemingly come to an end, and Flint has chosen to go down fighting. When he unexpectedly starts to fall in love with a beautiful and strong woman, he finds himself fighting for her, risking his life in gun battles, escaping trained assassins, and neatly outwitting his wife and her father, who tried to kill him. But Flint won't live long enough to save them anyway . . . or will he?

This was a fantastic book because Flint is basically a nameless man, and a lonesome one. It's interesting to read about how he views the world from the viewpoint of someone dying. He is a very admirable character for his now-disregard for life, and his determination to go down fighting no matter what the cost. Flint also has many enemies, and it's impressive on how he deals with them.

I would recommend this book to all Western fans who like a good showdown gun battle with a strong and brave main character up against impossible odds. This is a good book to read even if you don't like reading Western novels (like me), and it's good for people who like books about a main character who fights until the end, not just for himself, but for others. And in doing so, finds that he is actually a better man than he ever thought himself to be.

Keila, 14

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this Book

 

The Lonesome Gods 

by Louis L'Amour
10/11/2017 Categories: action historical survival stories wild west

Image result for The Lonesome GodsThe Lonesome Gods is about a man named Johannes Verne. His mother and father were on the run from his mother's father, Don Isidro, who wanted to kill them both for disgracing the family name. But they escape and have Johannes, but when his parents die, Johannes is left in the desert to die alone by his grandfather. Johannes is forced to grow up mostly alone, but always he prepares himself for that day when he meets the men who had killed his father and who wanted to kill him, because on the day Johannes was left in the desert, he never forgave . . . and he never forgot.

The Lonesome Gods was an excellent book because it's a very inspiring growing-up story. Johannes is a inspiring and relatable character, and very admirable because of his quiet strength, wits, courage, and talent with the gun. Louis L'Amour also writes the story in such a way you can't help but think, 'Dang. That guy's awesome.'

I would definitely recommend this book to others because it's suspenseful, daring, adventurous, and has romance, but it's really subtle. For those who enjoy reading tales of the Old West and gun battles, and who don't really want to focus on the romance, than this is the book for you. Johannes is also a very great, complete character, and anyone who gets to know him can't help but be in awe.

Keila, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

The Poisonwood Bible 

by Barbara Kingsolver

Nathan Price, an arrogant Baptist missionary, settles his wife and four daughters in a Congolese village determined to spread the word of God. During a time of tumultuous politics, racism, and Congolese independence, Nathan forces the family to stay, despite the risk of increasing danger. The family endures life-altering hardship and battles with feelings of guilt, grief and loneliness. The events that take place during their time in the Congo will haunt them for years to come.

I loved this book. It was definitely one of the best books I've read because of its depiction of historical events, racism, and portrayal of real, raw emotion.

I would recommend this book to others because of its dynamic plot line, important message, and its awesome portrayal of life in the Congo. If you like historical fiction and stories with a powerful message, The Poisonwood Bible would be the perfect book for you.

Bethany, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

 

Wintergirls 

by Laurie Halse Anderson
09/28/2017 Categories: death older teens realistic fiction

Lia's friend died of anorexia and she had a difficult time with accepting her life without her best friend. Lia later on, try's to move on with her life, but she feels like the more days past, the more she feels like life woun't be the same without her.

This book was a good book because this it is similar to other teenagers in life. A lot of people suffer from anorexia and very little survive.

I would recommend this book for teenagers ages 14 and up. It’s a really good book to learn life lessons from. 

Yessica, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

 

Girl Stolen 

by April Henry
09/27/2017 Categories: horror kidnapping true stories

Girl Stolen is about a girl name Cheyenne who, when she was younger, contracted pneumonia and became blind. Her life takes a dangerous twist one day when waiting for her mother in the car, a random guy hijacks the car!

I really liked this book because it was creepy! Knowing that this happens sometimes in real life is scary!

Yessica, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

 

 

 

Island of the Blue Dolphins 

by Scott O'Dell

Karana lives on the island with a tribe of Native Americans. However, one day, Karana and her brother were left behind. She has to figure out how to survive on a island where no one else lives. Karana has no food or weapons. 

I really liked this book, it was the best book ever. I love how she figures out how to survive on an island where she has no help from no one.

I would recommend this book to everyone who likes reading survival stories. Even if you don’t like reading books, I really recommend this book to you it’s a really good book, trust me! 

Yessica, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

 

Horsefeathers: & Other Curious Words 

by Charles E. Funk
09/23/2017 Categories: non-fiction

This book isn't just a story, it's better! It's a bunch of little ones combined into one book! It is filled with different sayings throughout history. To list a few(If you don't know, Google it.): Joe-Pye Weed Butterscotch Belladonna Nuthatch and Earwig.

I think that the words are very interesting, and I am very fond of my class--English, and I think it is a great way of expanding your vocab, and blowing people's mind when you do.

I believe that everyone should read this book, like I said earlier, it is a great book for more understanding of uncommon words most people don't even use.

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this book

 

 

Page 1 of 41 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 20 40 > >>

Teen Librarian

Have a question?

Call:  760-839-4283

Email:cjanovitz@escondido.org

Search