Check out these book reviews by local teens. 

Want to submit your own? Fill out this FORM.

Categories

Flint 

by Louis L'Amour
10/11/2017 Categories: action historical wild west

Image result for Louis L'Amour FlintJim Flint is a man known by many names: James T. Kettleman, Jim Flint, and the legendary kid at The Crossings, known for being so fast with his gun he killed five men in as many seconds. But now it seems his life has come to a tragic end--he has cancer. Flint is a powerful, cunning, and cold man, a man who has never known a family and has never needed one. But his life has seemingly come to an end, and Flint has chosen to go down fighting. When he unexpectedly starts to fall in love with a beautiful and strong woman, he finds himself fighting for her, risking his life in gun battles, escaping trained assassins, and neatly outwitting his wife and her father, who tried to kill him. But Flint won't live long enough to save them anyway . . . or will he?

This was a fantastic book because Flint is basically a nameless man, and a lonesome one. It's interesting to read about how he views the world from the viewpoint of someone dying. He is a very admirable character for his now-disregard for life, and his determination to go down fighting no matter what the cost. Flint also has many enemies, and it's impressive on how he deals with them.

I would recommend this book to all Western fans who like a good showdown gun battle with a strong and brave main character up against impossible odds. This is a good book to read even if you don't like reading Western novels (like me), and it's good for people who like books about a main character who fights until the end, not just for himself, but for others. And in doing so, finds that he is actually a better man than he ever thought himself to be.

Keila, 14

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this Book

 

The Lonesome Gods 

by Louis L'Amour
10/11/2017 Categories: action historical survival stories wild west

Image result for The Lonesome GodsThe Lonesome Gods is about a man named Johannes Verne. His mother and father were on the run from his mother's father, Don Isidro, who wanted to kill them both for disgracing the family name. But they escape and have Johannes, but when his parents die, Johannes is left in the desert to die alone by his grandfather. Johannes is forced to grow up mostly alone, but always he prepares himself for that day when he meets the men who had killed his father and who wanted to kill him, because on the day Johannes was left in the desert, he never forgave . . . and he never forgot.

The Lonesome Gods was an excellent book because it's a very inspiring growing-up story. Johannes is a inspiring and relatable character, and very admirable because of his quiet strength, wits, courage, and talent with the gun. Louis L'Amour also writes the story in such a way you can't help but think, 'Dang. That guy's awesome.'

I would definitely recommend this book to others because it's suspenseful, daring, adventurous, and has romance, but it's really subtle. For those who enjoy reading tales of the Old West and gun battles, and who don't really want to focus on the romance, than this is the book for you. Johannes is also a very great, complete character, and anyone who gets to know him can't help but be in awe.

Keila, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

The Posionwood Bible 

by Barbara Kingsolver

Nathan Price, an arrogant Baptist missionary, settles his wife and four daughters in a Congolese village determined to spread the word of God. During a time of tumultuous politics, racism, and Congolese independence, Nathan forces the family to stay, despite the risk of increasing danger. The family endures life-altering hardship and battles with feelings of guilt, grief and loneliness. The events that take place during their time in the Congo will haunt them for years to come.

I loved this book. It was definitely one of the best books I've read because of its depiction of historical events, racism, and portrayal of real, raw emotion.

I would recommend this book to others because of its dynamic plot line, important message, and its awesome portrayal of life in the Congo. If you like historical fiction and stories with a powerful message, The Poisonwood Bible would be the perfect book for you.

Bethany, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

 

Wintergirls 

by Laurie Halse Anderson
09/28/2017 Categories: death older teens realistic fiction

Lia's friend died of anorexia and she had a difficult time with accepting her life without her best friend. Lia later on, try's to move on with her life, but she feels like the more days past, the more she feels like life woun't be the same without her.

This book was a good book because this it is similar to other teenagers in life. A lot of people suffer from anorexia and very little survive.

I would recommend this book for teenagers ages 14 and up. It’s a really good book to learn life lessons from. 

Yessica, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

 

Girl Stolen 

by April Henry
09/27/2017 Categories: horror kidnapping true stories

Girl Stolen is about a girl name Cheyenne who, when she was younger, contracted pneumonia and became blind. Her life takes a dangerous twist one day when waiting for her mother in the car, a random guy hijacks the car!

I really liked this book because it was creepy! Knowing that this happens sometimes in real life is scary!

Yessica, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

 

 

 

Island of the Blue Dolphins 

by Scott O'Dell

Karana lives on the island with a tribe of Native Americans. However, one day, Karana and her brother were left behind. She has to figure out how to survive on a island where no one else lives. Karana has no food or weapons. 

I really liked this book, it was the best book ever. I love how she figures out how to survive on an island where she has no help from no one.

I would recommend this book to everyone who likes reading survival stories. Even if you don’t like reading books, I really recommend this book to you it’s a really good book, trust me! 

Yessica, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

 

Horsefeathers: & Other Curious Words 

by Charles E. Funk
09/23/2017 Categories: non-fiction

This book isn't just a story, it's better! It's a bunch of little ones combined into one book! It is filled with different sayings throughout history. To list a few(If you don't know, Google it.): Joe-Pye Weed Butterscotch Belladonna Nuthatch and Earwig.

I think that the words are very interesting, and I am very fond of my class--English, and I think it is a great way of expanding your vocab, and blowing people's mind when you do.

I believe that everyone should read this book, like I said earlier, it is a great book for more understanding of uncommon words most people don't even use.

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this book

 

 

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children 

by Ransom Riggs
09/23/2017 Categories: horror mystery

This book is about a troubled sixteen year old boy named Jacob who goes to an island because he is drawn to the land of Wales. There, is where he finds out the crumbling abandoned mansion that was once a place of peace for peculiar children. Miss Peregrine sends a couple of kids to get Jacob, and help him explore the odd past of the mansion, and the story of Miss Peregrine's home(mansion) for peculiar children will unwind. . .

I think this book was a great coming-to-age story like Harry Potter. This book is frighteningly good. With pictures throughout, and each have a unique story behind it. The author did a really good job of explaining Jacob's story. The only thing that bothers me is that there is excessive cursing in it. Or in other words, 'This world isn't perfect. Nor are the books.'

I recommend this book to those who enjoy looking at pictures, and reading text that makes you think about what you think the word 'peculiar' means. Unique children with different abilities. 

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Divergent 

by Veronica Roth
09/23/2017 Categories: dystopia romance sci fi

Beatrice Prior is a unique character. She grew up in one of many factions. Abnegation is a value found in her parents and brother, but not her. To be Abnegation is to be selfless. Beatrice finds it difficult to fit into her own family. After taking an an aptitude test, and discovering that she is in fact, different, Beatrice is faced with a new problem: Who is she? What faction will she pick at the Choosing Ceremony?'

I enjoyed this book because it really expresses the beauty of being different, and maybe even helping you find yourself. Imagine yourself as one of the teens at the Choosing Ceremony. What virtues do you most relate to? 

Everyone should read this. Despite some romantic text, this is a truly great story. 

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

 

The Dream Giver 

by Bruce H. Wilkinson

Meet Ordinary, he lives in a place where everyone lives in the Comfort Zone, and everyone is the same. Until one day, Ordinary decides to leave the Land of Familiar to pursue his Big Dream, no matter the Border Bullies that block his true potential.

I think this book is a great reminder that anyone could achieve their dreams. Even though there will be some roadblocks, we can always think our way through the problem, not around. It is a fantastic book that will question your way of thinking, and it will help you explore yourself and your values.

Everyone should seriously read this great book. Anyone who wants to expand their horizons, and create a different way of thinking. I hope you like it as much as I do!

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this Book

 

Nancy Drew: The Secret Of The Old Clock 

by Carolyn Keene
09/20/2017 Categories: mystery

I have to be honest to you, I have lots of these stacked in my room. All of them have a unique case that is different from the last one. Old books are my fave, and for Nancy Drew, it just kind of stuck. I would say you'd start with the very first book which is The Secret of the Old Clock!

I really, really like this series. It is the most fantastic series which goes on for forever, and Nancy Drew herself is an interesting character. She has a different way of thinking, and she is the daughter of the police sheriff, so don't mess with her. . .

Everyone is able to read the book, and those who are willing to try new things and be an exotic reader, I recommend Nancy Drew. I would be awesome if you guys tried this book!


Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

The Making of a Navy Seal 

by Brandon Webb
09/20/2017 Categories: non-fiction war

This book is about the amazing journey of the author, Brandon Webb, on becoming a Navy Seal(hence the title). Through the first couple chapters, you really get into Brandon's life, and you can really see the changes from when he was a vigorous sportster to one of America's Deadliest Snipers. Through the difficulty of his father, and getting a spot into the Navy Seal training, Brandon Webb's story is a truly interesting tale. A story worthy of telling your friends. 

I really like this book because you explore the HARD-core training the recruits have to go through. In order to graduate onto the next level, they have to go through a really hard training week. Guess what it's called(c'mon, it may be easy. . .). Hell Week. That's right, not nonfiction no more. Though it seems like it might be the hardest thing in life(probably is), the funny thing is, it is the most interesting thing in the book. It might not be for you. But there's one way to find out. . . 

Anyone can read this great, powerful book. Get the excitement of the capturing of al-Qaeda, and the terror of 9/11. I think this book is a great nutshell capturing all the military training, and Brandon Webb must be a great author, father, and sniper. After you read this book, I can totally assure you that it will change your mind about looking at Navy Seal's walking around. R-e-s-p-e-c-t.

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

The Overachievers: The Secret Life of Driven Kids 

by Alexandra Robbins

Image result for The Overachievers: The Secret Life of Driven KidsThis book is a thrilling non-fictional piece that highlights the lives of nine upperclassmen at Walt Whitman High School. We journey with these students through the stress of their hectic academic schedules, their equally ambitious parents, and their internal struggles. The college admissions process is always present, and it makes you feel just as trapped as the students that go through it. See what it is like to be the Superstar, the Perfectionist, the Workhorse, the Teacher's Pet, the Slacker, the Meathead, the Flirt, the Popular Girl, and the Stealth Overachiever as they give us a glimpse of their overachieving lives.

This book is very interesting because it gives the reader a behind-the-scenes perspective on the overachieving culture that many high school students across America are a part of today. I like the fact that instead of seeing this world from one perspective, you get perspective from nine different people that are well-trained in the field.

Every high school student should pick up this book at some point, as well as parents, counselors, high schools, and colleges. If you are involved in any educational environment at all, or even if you just like to read for pleasure, this book is for you.

Anna, 14

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this book

Sense and Sensibility 

by Jane Austen
09/07/2017 Categories: classic dating drama romance siblings

This book details the trials and tribulations in the love lives of the Dashwood sisters. The eldest sister, Eleanor, is logical, reasonable and levelheaded, while Marianne, the younger sister, is emotional, passionate, and romantic. Eleanor finds herself in love with an engaged man, while Marianne is pining after a local rascal.

I liked this story a lot because it kept me on the edge of my seat. Jane Austen novels are wildy unpredictable, but always possess a happy ending.

I definitely recommend this book to others because of its dynamic plot. If you like classic love stories or other Jane Austen books, Sense and Sensibility is perfect for you.

Bethany, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

 

The Sun Also Rises 

by Ernest Hemingway
09/06/2017 Categories: classic france romance

The Sun Also Rises chronicles the disillusionment of American expatriates in post-World War I Europe. Jake Barnes, Lady Brett Ashley, and their friends travel to Pamplona, Spain to observe the bull-fighting. Hapless Jake continuously pines after the beautiful, charming Brett, though she hops from one man to another.

I liked this book. Hemingway's style of writing is very different from what I have read before, with his short, declarative sentences. His point comes across very promptly, yet poignantly. The story itself is very short, yet full of meaning, which I really enjoyed.

I would recommend this book to others due to its exciting, ever-changing storyline. This novel is a good read for those that like the classics.

Bethany, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Page 1 of 41 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 20 40 > >>

Teen Librarian

Have a question?

Call:  760-839-4283

Email:cjanovitz@escondido.org

Search