Check out these book reviews by local teens. 

Want to submit your own? Fill out this FORM.

Categories

The Death Cure 

by James Dashner
08/12/2017 Categories: action survival stories suspense

Hey, guys! So The Death Cure is the second-to-last book(The last one is the prequel, Kill Order.), following Thomas and his gang on the journey throughout the Maze Runner series, with this book, in the beginning, you learn who is immune to the Flare, and who isn't. Yes, some of our beloved characters must get picked off. Sadly. Gally comes in again. He made another appearance in Scorch Trials as well.

I really enjoyed this book, but not as much as I liked Scorch Trials. This book really wraps things up for Wicked and Maze Runner fans. Thomas is left with a few of his friends behind, because they died. Newt, he had the Flare, and asked Tommy to kill him. (Everyone loved Newt!) and Teresa has her last say in this book. In the earlier book, she betrays Thomas, and he never forgives her. So, in The Death Cure, Teresa pays back her debt, and saves Thomas from a crushing ice wall. She literally gets squished.

I would recommend this book to people who have already read the other Maze Runner books, and are ready for the finale. No one really knows what happens after The Death Cure, but you can read what happened before the first book, The Maze Runner. Like I have mentioned before, the "last" book and very first book is the prequel, Kill Order. Read all of them and do a review!

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

The Hobbit 

by J.R.R Tolkien
08/12/2017 Categories: action adventure fantasy

Image result for the hobbit the novel

The plot of this novel is set before the events of The Lord of the Rings trilogy. This book follows the journey of Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit who favors the comfort of his home, and 13 dwarves whom Bilbo accompanies. The group's goal is to pass through the dangerous terrains and creatures of the Misty Mountains, and eventually reclaim their authority of the Lonely Mountains from the dragon Smaug.

The first few chapters of the book is pretty slow, but I've noticed that most of J.R.R Tolkien's books start off like that. You just have to get through those parts because eventually, you get sucked into the story. I really liked how Bilbo Baggins' character developed throughout his journey. At first, he came off as a pretentious creature who had too many fears to be of actual help to the dwarves. However, it was very interesting to see his better qualities such as tenacity, dexterity, and humility show through as he traveled and fought together with his dwarf companions.

I would recommend this book to people who like fantasy novels. Everything in The Hobbit as well as The Lord of the Rings is from Tolkien's imagination. He writes about dwarves, elves, goblins, and other fascinating creatures. I think that the language may be a little hard for some to understand, but I think the way Tolkien used Bilbo's character development to illustrate motifs and themes was great. Even though this may have been just another fiction with a tale of an adventure to others, to me, it was a story that taught me to get out of my comfort zone and enjoy all of the things (good or bad) that life has to offer.

Heejeong, 18

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

The First Time She Drowned 

by Kerry Kletter

This book is a very depressing book, and it will ruin your day. Seriously. You can try to read it, but I am just writing a review on this book just to warn you. The book itself is about a 16-year old girl, Cassie O' Malley. Her family is abusive, and her mother forced Cassie into a mental institution. This is where she understands herself. She struggles through her two and a half years there. She befriends someone named James. He smokes, and teaches her how. She claims that the only reason why she smokes is because there is 'nothing else' to do in the bland, dull colored mental institution.

It was a sad, depressing story. Cassie was different in her family, and she was pulled from her house, and placed in a mental hospital. Her mother forced her into the car, and even tied her up, and told her brother not to help her. The reason why the book is called The First Time She Drowned, was because when she was younger, her brother always showed off in front of his mother. Cassie tried to also, but the only thing she got from her mother, was a look as if she was threatening her brother. Her mother is so full of herself, and she can manipulate you little by little.

I would recommend this book to those who like bleak stories, and depressing characters. When you read it, you feel like you are the one who is suffering. Not Cassie herself. The language is harsh, and the plot is really bad. People comment that the book is about a girl, who goes through a change, and gets into college. They claim it is a beautiful story. I wonder what they mean by that...

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

The Time Traveler's Wife 

by Audrey Niffenegger
08/12/2017 Categories: fantasy older teens time travel

In Niffenegger's novel, a young man named Henry has the ability to time travel involuntarily. His trips into the past as well as the future happens spontaneously, but most of the time, they lead him to his wife. Through these trips, Henry learns more about his love for Clare since she was a young child until her old age.

This book has a complex story line. It may be difficult to understand at first but as you keep reading, it starts making sense. It's a love story but it's not the typical one that one would see on the shelves. I liked the book because of the originality but I was also captivated by Clare. I thought that Clare's unconditional love for Henry despite his sudden absences was the sweetest thing.

This is romantic story of two people so this definitely will appeal more to readers who like love stories. However, it's also a sci-fi novel, so that's an added bonus. Initially, I started reading it because of the "time traveling" description of the book but I was pleasantly surprised with the romantic plotline.

Heejeong, 18

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince 

by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter, the Boy Who Lived, returns to Hogwarts now known as the Chosen One. Rumors about his adventure to the Ministry of Magic and his second duel with Voldemort fly like wildfire around the Wizarding world, and even darker rumors encircle the acts of the terrible Dark Lord. Nevertheless school goes on, and Albus Dumbledore believe that it is time for Harry to be educated in the mysterious past of Lord Voldemort. But the more they learn, the more questions appear, and as the school drama heightens, things get strange. But Harry is always sure of one thing: One cannot live while the other survives.

I thought this was a really good book (like all the Harry Potter books). The ending is so full of action and emotion, and so many questions get answered while at the same time making more. Questions like 'Why does Harry feel Voldemort's emotions?' This is one of the biggest questions in the entire series, but you have to read all the books to understand, and I love that about it.

I would recommend Harry Potter in general to anyone who likes a very well-put-together story, a series, magic, and incredible action. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince is a really good book if you like anything listed above, plus a good mystery coupled with romance and a character that feels real and is someone you can relate to.

Keila, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Tiger 

by Jeff Stone
08/12/2017 Categories: adventure brothers middle grade

Fu is the Cantonese name for Tiger. Fu is a strongly built boy who finds himself in the evil clutches of his older brother, Ying(eagle). The brothers are all monks, and they barely have the time to mourn over their so-called 'Secret Temple'. Ying turned evil because of the Grandmaster's mistake. This book is one of many of the Five Ancestors series.

I fell in love with this series. Especially this book, Tiger. The boy's name was chosen by Grandmaster because of his body type. He was also trained to be taught in the way of the tiger. Or in other words, Tiger martial arts. I hope you enjoy this book!

I would definitely recommend this book to like, everyone. Why? Well, obviously it's a good book. Who doesn't like martial-arts-butt-kicking monks who go on journeys with cool names? Hok, Fu, Maolo, Ying, and countless others.

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Heartless 

by Marissa Meyer
08/12/2017 Categories: fantasy romance

So. Good. This book is about Catherine Pinkerton, the future Queen of Hearts! Why is she so cruel? What made her say "Off with your head" in the first place? Find out in this twisted, gripping tale. . .

It was amazing! You really dip into the dream of a bakery for Catherine. And the real story behind the Jabberwocky! Interesting pumpkins, daring jokers, heartbreaking scenes, and scenario's that make you go "Oh! I remember that!" or "Eureka!"

I would recommend this book to 12-1,000. Why? Well, because this is a bit more mature book. Just because it's mature, doesn't mean it isn't a great book! Be prepared for a tale of roses and thrones...

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

The River 

by Gary Paulsen
08/12/2017 Categories: adventure survival stories

Brian Robeson, who was forced to live alone for several weeks in the wilderness, is on his next life-threatening quest through the woods. When asked by the government to show them how he was able to survive, Brain agrees and goes back to the forest accompanied by a psychologist named Derek Holtzer. But when a freak storm hits them out of nowhere and everything goes wrong, Brian is once again fighting for his life on a trek to also save the life of his friend.

This was a really fantastic book. It had some really interesting psychological elements to it, but it definitely wasn't lacking in action, either. It's a striking story of the relationship between man and nature, and how for Brian it's not man v.s. nature, but nature shaping man for survival.

I would recommend The River to anyone who enjoys a good survival story. This is also a good book for anyone who enjoys a psychological explanation, the story of what's going on in the main character's brain.

Keila, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Surf Like A Girl 

by Rebecca Heller
08/12/2017 Categories: non-fiction

Image result for Rebecca Heller Surf Like A Girl

For all my awesome, surf-loving girls out there! THE book has come, and I am wanting you to read it! This book will get you from picking the right wetsuit, to picking a board. And some beach tips on the way. I really hope you will enjoy this book as much as I do!

I really, really like this book. It is just a single book, and the author is amazing! Bethany Hamilton has read the book, and left a comment, and even by the cover, you can tell you are about to go on a journey. . .

I would recommend it to all my lady gals out there who have a passion to surf those gnarly waves, and tame your fears, and have a blast! Starting the with the whitewater will be best, and maybe begin with a foam board. P.S. The boards from Costco are pretty decent. It is your choice, and I do suggest that you'd do research on surfboards! Have a great time!

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this book

 

Kingdom Hearts 

by Shiro Amano
08/10/2017 Categories: fantasy friendship manga

There are lots of comics for Kingdom Hearts. The main character is named Sora. His friends, Kairi and Riku were both kidnapped by a mysterious dark magic guy. There are no curse words, or inappropriate content in these books. This is Sora's coming-to-age story of friendship, OMG-moments and Disney characters!

I really liked these books, and it will leave you thirsting to order the second, third, fourth, and so on. You will meet Maleficent, Pete, Belle, Jasmine, Beast, Goofy, Donald, and new characters who live in Traverse Town, like Leon, Yuffie, and many more. When there is light, like Sora, there is darkness, like the Heartless(lol! It rhymes!)

YES! Totally! Anyone can read it! It's all ages, and anyone who loves Disney characters would enjoy this book with Mickey as king, and Minnie as queen. It isn't babyish, fellow teens, it's manga!

Priscilla, 12

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Because of Romek: A Holocaust Survivor's Memoir 

by David Faber, James D. Kitchen
08/10/2017 Categories: holocaust non-fiction older teens wwII

In this memoir, David Faber describes his experiences as a Jew living under Hitler's Third Reich during World War II. Faber recounts the terrible mistreatment of Jews in concentration camps as well as his multiple attempts to escape. Although he was a survivor, he explains that the terrors of those years still haunt him in forms of nightmares.

This was the first Holocaust book that I picked up in my entire life. I read it at an early age, way before I had actually known about the injustices against Jews during World War II. The book gives a vivid description of what Faber's life was like before, during, and after the Holocaust. It was a difficult read because of the content but it did happen and I'm glad that I was able to learn from this book as well.

I would recommend anyone to read Faber's memoir. The first time I read it, I was in fourth grade. I didn't understand it at first, but I was able to learn from it the second time. I really liked Elie Wiesel's books but Faber has a different style of writing that makes it feel like you're there with him. It's scary but I think that was one of the reasons why Faber's book had a much more lasting impact on me than Night did. I think it's important that we remember the Holocaust and that we never forget it because it was terrible crime against humanity. That's why I would really recommend this book to anyone.

Heejeong, 18

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Along Came a Spider 

by James Patterson
08/10/2017 Categories: kidnapping mystery older teens suspense

Image result for along came a spider

After the kidnapping of a young girl, detective Alex Cross undertakes the task of finding her. During his investigation, he comes across the murders of a family as well as a school-teacher. Ultimately, he connects all of these crimes to one psychopath who he must catch before time runs out.

I'm a sucker for mystery books and it had such a thrilling plot. I tried to work out the mystery while reading just like Detective Cross. The book made me very suspicious of pretty much everyone in the book except for the narrator because it's in his perspective, but Patterson placed a few plot twists that was surprising. However, those plot twists were what got me hooked to the book.

This book is a mystery novel, so naturally, I would recommend it people who like reading mystery. However, I don't think it should be just limited to mystery enthusiasts. Even though in the beginning, Patterson doesn't give away the criminal, the last half of the book is focused on catching the killer and finding his motive.

Heejeong, 18

Rating: 

smileySuggest the Library purchase this book

 

Fangirl 

by Rainbow Rowell
08/05/2017 Categories: dating drama romance siblings

Cath and Wren have been attached to the hip from the moment they were brought into the world, until now when Wren decides to go out into the world of college by herself. With Cath alone, she struggles to juggle her favorite hobby of writing 'fanfiction' for her favorite series about the wizard, Simon Snow and her new college work load. Cath has to learn to survive as she struggles to get along with her new roommate and deal with her first love.

I've read the same Young Adult novel about the girl with a troubled past who meets the perfect boy quite a few times now and I was pleased to find something different when I came across this book. Fangirl overall felt like a very fun but real read. You could connect to the characters and the troubles they were going through were quite realistic for a freshman in college. This novel is probably one of my favorites that I've read in a while because of easy it was to connect it to my own life.

I recommend Fangirl to anyone who likes witty humor, realistic characters, and a cute, but not overwhelming, love story. Fangirl is the whole package wrapped up in a novel that isn't like every other one in the Young Adults section.

Karley, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

The Diabolic 

by S.J. Kincaid
07/20/2017 Categories: action romance sci fi

Nemesis is a word and name that indicates negative influences, just like all the other Diabolic names. Diabolics are soulless, savage creatures, incapable of any human emotion other than love and rage. Or so everyone thought. When Nemesis is sent to the court of her tyrant King, she encounters unexpected situations: a supposedly insane but handsome man, a plot to destroy the king, dark motives, twisted lies, and . . . true love? When it comes down to it, will Nemesis trust what everyone's been telling her, or her heart . . . which tells her she can be something more?

I really enjoyed this book because it was a fantastic story about how a young woman breaks free of what everyone has told her about herself--and what she believed--and chose to be someone SHE wanted to be. Nemesis is also a very interesting character because she's strong and brave, but utterly confused by what her heart is telling her, and her head. But what I didn't like was that there were some sexual references--not a lot, but some.

This is a good book for anyone who likes a cool, strong, karate-chopping girl who finds out who she is only by not listening to the voices she had been listening to her entire life. There is some romance in it too, as an added bonus, which really makes Nemesis's whole world flip upside-down. Also, if you like the victory of a scenario where a tyrant is given his dues and replaced by a better person, this is also a good book. But here's a warning--this book is a little emotionally chaotic, especially at the end (personally, I relish it).

Keila, 14

Rating: 

smileyFind at the library

 

The Sky is Everywhere 

by Jandy Nelson
07/20/2017 Categories: death love triangles realistic fiction

The Sky is Everywhere describes how Lennie deals with the aftermath of her sister's death through the company of two boys-Toby, her sister's boyfriend, and Joe, the new kid in town. Toby shares Lennie's grief for her sister and offers her a shoulder to cry on. Joe, however, is bursting with life and gives Lennie the happiness she craves after such a dark time in her life. Both boys offer Lennie something that she seriously needs, but she knows that if the two of them knew about the other, everything would be in ruins. Lennie must navigate through this situation, while also coping with the loss of her beloved sister.

I loved this book. It is a great story, filled with constant twists and turns. Lennie made many mistakes that kept me on the edge of my seat, but these mistakes worked themselves out in the end in order to reach an amazing conclusion. I also really appreciated the raw, real emotion that the novel possesses.

I definitely recommend this book to others because of its fantastic storyline. If you like realistic fiction, you would enjoy The Sky is Everywhere.

Bethany, 15

Rating: 

smileyFind at the Library

 

Page 1 of 39 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 20 > >>

Teen Librarian

Have a question?

Call:  760-839-4283

Email:cjanovitz@escondido.org

Search